Skip to main content

Add people to your project

You have a project set up, and want to add your team members? Here’s how:
1

Open the repository's menu and select 'Collaborators'

Open the repository’s … menu - in its row on either the Local Workspaces or Remote Repositories tab of the dashboard, or from the open repository’s actions menu - and select Collaborators. Inside an open repository, you can also press Ctrl+K (Cmd+K on Mac) and choose Collaborators. If you don’t have a repo yet, create one first.
2

Enter the email

At the bottom of the dialog, type an email, user, or group in the Email, user, or group… field (Email… for a repo outside an organization). In the dropdown next to it, choose the access level you want to grant. The default is Can write. Admins can invite other members.
3

Click Send invite

That’s it! Your team members will receive invitation emails to join the project. If they don’t have Diversion installed yet, they’ll be prompted to do so. They can accept the invitation and start working with you. The repo appears on the Remote Repositories tab in the app — they open its ... menu and select Clone repo to get started. If they need any help, send them here.

Change a person’s access level

1

Open the repository's menu and select 'Collaborators'

Open the repository’s … menu - in its row on either the Local Workspaces or Remote Repositories tab of the dashboard, or from the open repository’s actions menu - and select Collaborators. Inside an open repository, you can also press Ctrl+K (Cmd+K on Mac) and choose Collaborators.
2

Select the person's access level

Click the person’s access level and choose Can read, Can write, or Admin. The change is saved when you choose it.
Good to know:
  • A person with Can read can browse and pull, but cannot commit or push.
  • Only repo owners and admins can change access levels.
  • Organization owners and admins can write to every repository in their organization. See Access levels.

Remove people from your project

1

Open the repository's menu and select 'Collaborators'

Open the repository’s … menu - in its row on either the Local Workspaces or Remote Repositories tab of the dashboard, or from the open repository’s actions menu - and select Collaborators. Inside an open repository, you can also press Ctrl+K (Cmd+K on Mac) and choose Collaborators.
2

Select the member you wish to remove

Click on the user’s permission level and select Remove from repository.
Only repo owners and admins can remove members. The repo owner cannot be removed.
3

Confirm the removal

Review and confirm your action.
Good to know:
  • Removing a member from a repo doesn’t remove them from the organization (if applicable)
  • You can re-invite removed members at any time
  • Removed members will immediately lose access to the repo and its contents
  • Their local files on disk are not deleted

Leave a repository

Good to know:
  • Leaving a repo doesn’t remove you from the organization (if applicable)
  • You can be re-invited at any time
  • You will immediately lose access to the repo and its contents upon leaving
  • Your workspaces in the repo are deleted, but your local files on disk are not
  • You cannot leave a repo you own
There are three ways to leave a repository:

Option 1: From the workspace bar

1

Open the collaborators menu and select 'Leave repository'

Click the ⋮ (three vertical dots) button to the right of the collaborator avatars in the workspace bar at the top of the repo view, then select Leave repository.
2

Confirm leaving the repository

Review the dialog and click Leave repository to confirm.

Option 2: From the collaborators dialog

1

Open the repository's menu and select 'Collaborators'

Open the repository’s … menu - in its row on either the Local Workspaces or Remote Repositories tab of the dashboard, or from the open repository’s actions menu - and select Collaborators. Inside an open repository, you can also press Ctrl+K (Cmd+K on Mac) and choose Collaborators.
2

Select yourself

Click on your permission level and select Leave repository.
3

Confirm leaving the repository

Review and confirm your action.

Option 3: From the repository on the dashboard

1

Open the repository's menu and select 'Leave Repository'

On the dashboard (click the Diversion logo at the top left), open the Remote Repositories tab. Click the … button at the right end of the repo’s row and select Leave Repository.
2

Confirm leaving the repository

Review and confirm your action.

Transfer repository ownership

To transfer repository ownership, the repository must be associated with an organization. For detailed instructions, see transferring repository ownership within the same organization, or transferring a repository to another organization across organizations.

FAQs

Why am I receiving system messages about exceeding my user limit when my repository has fewer users?

If a system message says your team has more users than your plan includes, even after removing excess users from all your repositories, check your organization members. The excess users may still be part of your organization and need to be removed there as well. See removing users from your organization for detailed instructions.